Finding Me

There’s only about a month left in the first semester of vet school and it’s only just hitting me that I’m really here. I’ve never been one to boast, but my fear of appearing egocentric has led to never giving myself credit for what I’ve done. Good grades are expected, it’s what you’re supposed to do, so no reason to feel proud, right? Wrong.

I’m in vet school! I always dreamed of getting here and once I had, I never stopped to appreciate it, or appreciate myself. I have done some amazing things. I graduated from Delaware Valley University obtaining a bachelors degree in three years with a 3.8 GPA. I founded Colleges Against Cancer at that school where we hosted the first ever annual Relay for Life of Delaware Valley Univeristy raising $14,000 the first year and $16,000 the following year and receiving the Leaders of Hope award from the American Cancer Society. I participated in Student Government Board as secretary, I was the Vice President of Chemistry Club for two years, I was a shift manager at the Equestrian Center, and I maintained a part time job back home as a veterinary assistant. I was accepted into Mizzou, OSU, University of Florida, and Cornell with a wait list at Auburn. I completed a research project on white blood cell morphology alongside a professor whom I hope to stay in contact with for years to come.

I’ve never written it all out before, and I never want to make anyone feel uncomfortable by talking about it, so I often don’t. But it’s time that I start recognizing for myself what I’ve accomplished and letting myself feel proud. When I got here, it was a flurry of moving in and getting established in Columbus, plus learning about bones because we’re expected to have that prepared. I was quickly overwhelmed by the class work, the grades, the new people. And now, one month from the end of this first semester, I’ve looked up from my notes in the library and have noticed that there are gorgeous trees outside the building. There’s more to being here than pushing myself and getting lost in a sea of hematopoiesis and thoracic limb innervation. I’ve been given an opportunity to learn from some of the brightest, and it’s not about being the best, but rather doing my best.

I’ll never stop working hard or pushing myself, but it’s time to start appreciating what I’ve done and what I’m capable of. This may be the hardest thing I’ve ever done, but that doesn’t mean it has to be a bad experience.

Leave a Reply

